Study Guide

How to prepare for the PMP exam: 2026 study guide

A preparation guide for the July 2026 PMP certification exam: eligibility paths, exam format and breaks, the three tested domains, and a scenario-based method for choosing the right next action.

Updated September 20268 min readStudy GuideConstruction Tutor
Lily Murray

Lily Murray

Construction Tutor Editorial Team

Prepare for the current PMP exam by mapping your study materials to the July 2026 outline, checking your experience and training eligibility, and practising project decisions. The exam has 180 questions in 240 minutes across People, Process and Business Environment.

What the PMP credential covers

PMP is PMI’s project management certification. Construction examples can help you practise, while the exam covers projects across industries.

The July 2026 outline assigns 33% to People, 41% to Process and 26% to Business Environment. Approximately 40% of items represent predictive approaches and 60% combines adaptive/agile and hybrid approaches across all three domains.

The Exam Content Outline (ECO) is the coverage map. Its task enablers are examples, rather than an exhaustive checklist. The PMBOK Guide is a reference for project management knowledge; it is not the complete exam syllabus.

Sources: Project Management Professional (PMP)® Examination Content Outline – July 2026, Project Management Institute — PMI ECO PDF; PMI PMP exam update page (PMI.org) — PMP exam updates and training notice

Eligibility: four paths and how experience counts

You qualify through one of four education-and-experience combinations, all requiring non-overlapping project leadership within the last ten years, plus 35 hours of project management training.

All four paths require experience leading and directing projects in a professional setting within the past ten years. Time is counted in months, not in the number of projects, and experience does not have to be paid work.

Overlapping projects count once by calendar month. If you led Project A from January through March and Project B from February through May, you record five months (January through May), not seven. School projects, academic research for a degree, personal events, home improvements, and routine operational or administrative tasks do not qualify.

Non-degree qualifications titled advanced, professional, or graduate count at the bachelor-equivalent tier only when a competent authority formally maps them to EQF 6 or a national bachelor-equivalent level. The title alone is not sufficient.

Educational backgroundRequired project leadership experience
Upper-secondary/secondary completion (EQF 4 / ISCED 3–4 or national equivalent)60 months (5 years), non-overlapping, within the last 10 years
Associate-level, higher-certificate, or advanced technical/vocational qualification (EQF 5 / ISCED 5 or national equivalent)48 months (4 years), non-overlapping, within the last 10 years
Bachelor's degree or formally mapped bachelor-equivalent (EQF 6 / ISCED 6 or national equivalent)36 months (3 years), non-overlapping, within the last 10 years
Bachelor's or postgraduate degree from a PMI Global Accreditation Center (GAC) program24 months (2 years), non-overlapping, within the last 10 years

Sources: Project Management Professional (PMP)® Examination Content Outline – July 2026, Project Management Institute — PMI ECO PDF

The 35 training hours and the December 2026 change

You need 35 hours of project management training aligned to the exam content outline. An active CAPM certification satisfies this training requirement; books and practice exams alone do not count.

Eligible providers currently include PMI Authorized Training Partners, China Registered Education Providers, GAC-accredited programs, project management courses at accredited higher-education institutions, employer-sponsored programs, training companies, and self-paced on-demand courses with an end-of-course assessment. All training is subject to audit, and PMI may disqualify poor-quality training.

Starting 1 December 2026, live classes — in person or virtual — count toward the 35 hours only if delivered by an Authorized Training Partner, a China REP, or an eligible accredited academic program, including GAC programs. Training completed before that date stays eligible under the current rules, and self-paced on-demand courses can still come from any organization. Self-paced courses still need qualifying project management content and the required assessment.

If you hold an active CAPM certification, the 35-hour training requirement is waived — but CAPM does not replace the education or experience requirements. Graduates of GAC-accredited degree programs can also count their GAC coursework toward the 35 hours.

Sources: Project Management Professional (PMP)® Examination Content Outline – July 2026, Project Management Institute — PMI ECO PDF; PMI PMP certification requirements page (PMI.org) — Certification pages; PMI PMP exam update page (PMI.org) — PMP exam updates and training notice

Exam format, timing, breaks, and delivery

The exam has 180 questions — 170 scored plus 10 unscored pretest questions — with 240 minutes of testing time and two 10-minute breaks.

Question types include multiple-choice single response, multiple response, matching, pull-down lists, case/scenario sets that present a detailed situation with possible graphs or charts, and graphic-based items requiring chart or diagram interpretation. Some interactive formats, such as drag-and-drop matching and point-and-click, are available only on computer-based testing.

The first 10-minute break follows the case-study section; the second comes roughly midway through the independent questions. Once you start a break, you cannot return to questions from the previous section, so review your answers before stepping away. An optional tutorial and survey sit outside the 240 minutes.

You can test in person at a Pearson VUE center (computer-based, or paper-based where offered) or online with a proctor. Mainland China delivers the exam as paper-based testing through ATA, and candidates in Japan and South Korea taking the online proctored option in their local language are also proctored by ATA. The exam is offered in 15 languages, including English, Arabic, Simplified and Traditional Chinese, Spanish, and Japanese. Check the PMI Certification Handbook for your specific booking and check-in instructions.

Sources: Project Management Professional (PMP)® Examination Content Outline – July 2026, Project Management Institute — PMI ECO PDF; PMI PMP certification requirements page (PMI.org) — Certification pages

The three content domains at a glance

People covers leadership, stakeholder, and communication work; Process covers planning and delivery; Business Environment covers governance, compliance, change, and risk.

The tasks below come from the July 2026 Examination Content Outline, which is the authoritative map of what the exam tests. Download it from PMI.org and use it to build a gap map of your current materials. Remember that enablers under each task are examples, not a closed checklist.

AI and sustainability appear as project contexts within the outline’s domains. Review their implications for decisions, stakeholders and outcomes alongside the other tasks.

  • People (33%): building a shared vision with stakeholders, managing conflict, leading the team, engaging and aligning stakeholder expectations, enabling knowledge transfer, and planning and managing communication.
  • Process (41%): the integrated project management plan and delivery approach, scope, value-based delivery, resources, procurement, finance, quality, schedule, evaluating project status, and closure.
  • Business Environment (26%): project governance, compliance requirements, managing and controlling changes, removing impediments and managing issues, planning and managing risk, continuous improvement, organizational change, and external business environment changes.

Sources: Project Management Professional (PMP)® Examination Content Outline – July 2026, Project Management Institute — PMI ECO PDF; PMI PMP exam update page (PMI.org) — PMP exam updates and training notice

How to practise a project decision

Choose an answer by checking the role, authority, constraints and requested decision in the scenario.

Write down what the question actually asks: an immediate action, a recommendation, a risk response or evidence of an outcome. Identify the facts that constrain that decision before comparing options.

After answering, explain why each alternative fails those stated conditions. “Always assess first” and “never escalate” are unreliable shortcuts; a scenario may explicitly require immediate action or escalation. Use PMI’s official sample questions to see formats, then practise with additional original cases.

Sources: Project Management Professional (PMP)® Examination Content Outline – July 2026, Project Management Institute — PMI ECO PDF; PMI PMP certification requirements page (PMI.org) — Certification pages

Worked exercise: compare two proposed responses

A proposal must satisfy every stated project constraint before it can be recommended on those terms.

This original arithmetic and decision exercise uses fictional project rules and estimates. It is not a recalled PMI item or a construction operating procedure.

Try it yourself

A facilities project needs a response to a supplier delay. For this exercise, the sponsor requires completion by 30 September and a total additional cost no greater than $12,000. Both proposals have passed the same required technical and safety review, and no other selection constraints apply. Proposal A would finish on 28 September and cost $11,000 plus a $2,000 delivery charge. Proposal B would finish on 30 September and cost $11,800 including delivery. Which proposal satisfies both constraints and can be recommended for the sponsor’s decision?

Show answer

Proposal B. Its $11,800 total stays within the $12,000 limit and its 30 September completion meets the deadline.

A meets the date requirement but totals $11,000 + $2,000 = $13,000, exceeding the limit by $1,000. B meets both supplied constraints. Finishing earlier alone does not compensate for exceeding a mandatory cost limit. This practices evaluating a response against the given criteria; the ECO covers project finance, schedule, status and risk. Recommending B does not itself authorize implementation.

Sources: Project Management Professional (PMP)® Examination Content Outline – July 2026, Project Management Institute — PMI ECO PDF; PMI PMP certification requirements page (PMI.org) — Certification pages

Using older study materials after the July 2026 update

PMI tells candidates already studying older materials to keep going, because the core principles and approaches remain the same — but compare what you have against the 2026 outline and fill the gaps.

The biggest shift is the Business Environment weighting, which grew from 8% to 26%, alongside new case/scenario and graphic-based item types. Older materials strong on team leadership and delivery planning may under-prepare you for governance, compliance, external business changes, and chart-interpretation questions.

Compare your book or course table of contents against the 2026 Exam Content Outline domain by domain. Where a task has no coverage, treat it as a gap to fill rather than a reason to restart. PMI's new preparation resources emphasize AI, sustainability, value delivery, and the new formats if you want targeted supplements.

Sources: PMI PMP exam update page (PMI.org) — PMP exam updates and training notice; Project Management Professional (PMP)® Examination Content Outline – July 2026, Project Management Institute — PMI ECO PDF

Retakes, expiry, fees, and maintaining the credential

You have up to three total attempts within a one-year eligibility period. After three failures, wait one year from the last attempt before reapplying for PMP.

If eligibility expires without a pass while fewer than three attempts have been used, you must reapply; the ECO states no waiting period for that expiry case. Use the eligibility dates in your PMI account rather than assuming the window starts when you begin an application.

You pay the exam fee after your application is accepted. The amount is not stated in the exam content outline, so check PMI.org and the Certification Handbook for current pricing and payment steps before you schedule.

After you earn the credential, maintaining it means earning and reporting 60 professional development units every three years and paying the renewal fee. A PDU represents an hour of qualifying activity such as learning, teaching, presenting, reading, volunteering, or creating content.

Sources: Project Management Professional (PMP)® Examination Content Outline – July 2026, Project Management Institute — PMI ECO PDF; PMI PMP certification requirements page (PMI.org) — Certification pages

Your next steps

Confirm eligibility, secure training hours, map your materials to the 2026 outline, then drill scenario decisions before scheduling.

  • Count unique qualifying leadership months and identify the correct education path.
  • Document 35 qualifying training hours or an active CAPM credit; check which GAC coursework qualifies if applicable.
  • Map your existing resources against every task in the July 2026 ECO.
  • Practise case and graphic items, explaining each decision from the stated facts.
  • Check the appointment’s location, language, delivery and identity requirements, including online system checks where applicable.

Sources: Project Management Professional (PMP)® Examination Content Outline – July 2026, Project Management Institute — PMI ECO PDF; PMI PMP certification requirements page (PMI.org) — Certification pages; PMI PMP exam update page (PMI.org) — PMP exam updates and training notice

Sources

Fact check:

Next steps

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Practical answers to help you apply the guidance for Project Management Professional (PMP).

Is there a published passing score for the PMP exam?
PMI does not state a passing score in the exam content outline. It notes that the scoring model is periodically reviewed and directs candidates to the exam reporting section of the PMI Certification Handbook for scoring details.
What if I do not yet meet the PMP experience requirement?
PMI suggests considering the Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM) to build your project management knowledge and skills while you accumulate qualifying experience. An active CAPM also satisfies the PMP's 35-hour training requirement, though it does not replace the education or experience paths.

Keep Reading

Related Study Guides

Explore related guides and preparation topics.